Пропустить и перейти к тексту

Лучшие достопримечательности по мнению местных

Историческое место
“The Emperor Diocletian built this palace. It is amazingly well preserved with a population of over 5000 people living within its walls. It is like 'stepping back in time' but with the advantage of shops, restaurants, bars. ”
  • Рекомендует 381 местный житель
Торговый центр
“A square where ancient Roman soldiers used to salute the emperor, a theatre festival is held there every summer ”
  • Рекомендуют 60 местных жителей
Церковь
“Among the European cathedrals the one in Split finds its seat in the oldest building - the Mausoleum of the Roman Emperor Diocletian. Inside the cathedral, at the end of the second millennium, the history reconciles ancient pagan, Christian Medieval and modern heritage. Mausoleum of the Emperor - persecutor of Christians becomes a cathedral in the 7th century where altars with relics of St Domnius and St Anastasius, martyrs executed in the nearby Solin, take an honorary place. Outer octagon of the mausoleum is enclosed by an aisle (peripter) formed of 24 columns. In its interior it has a circular form with four semicircular and four rectangular niches. In the middle stood the Diocletian's sarcophagus, later destroyed. Above the niches rise eight red granite Corinthian pillars, and above them another eight smaller ones. The cornice circling above shows a relief of erots hunting, masks and human heads. Two medallions with bows are specially interesting as the archaeologists and Split's tradition recognise in them the portraits of Emperor Diocletian and his wife Prisca. Of particular interest is also the construction of the cupola with its fan-like arrangement of bricks in the lower part and a circular arrangement in its upper third. The cupola gleamed with glittering mosaics just like the one in the Vestibule. Cathedral today is primarily a place of liturgy, with a millennium long continuity, best reflected in the Sunday mass and the renewed splendour of the procession on the St Domnius's day - the day of Split's patron saint. The renowned part of the Cathedral are its gates carved in walnut by Andrija Buvina from Split. The two door posts show fourteen tablets each with scenes from the Gospels, from Gabriel's Annunciation to the Resurrection of Christ. Left of the entrance is a hexagonal pulpit from the 13th century, made of precious green porphyry, once gilded in its entirety. The Altar on the right was dedicated to the Salona's Bishop and martyr St Domnius. The altar's ciborium was erected by Bonino da Milano in 1427 in the late Gothic style, while the decoration of frescoes of four evangelists was down to the late Gothic painter Dujam Vušković from Split in 1429. Left side altar of the second patron of Split, the Solin martyr craftsman Anastasius of Aquileia, was made in 1448 by the greatest Croatian architect and sculptor of his time Juraj Dalmatinac. Especially impressive is the central relief on the sarcophagus depicting the Flagellation of Christ, where Dalmatinac shows Christ twisted by the torment and pain. The main altar was built from 1685 till 1689. The altar, in the northern niche, with St Domnius's remains from the Bonino's altar(since 1770), was built by the Venetian sculptor Morlaiter in 1767. The most important work in the Baroque choir of the Cathedral are the wooden bench-rests which originally stood in front of the main altar, carved in the first half of the 13th century. The bell tower of the Cathedral (57m) is the most original Dalmatian Medieval architecture started in the 13th century. The bell tower was thoroughly reconstructed and somewhat altered at the turn of the 20th century. Today you can climb the steps all the way to the top of the bell tower, where a spectacular view of the entire Split awaits you.”
  • Рекомендуют 104 местных жителя
Tourist Information Center
“Šugaman tours is the best speedboat tour company in town. Blue Cave&Hvar tour takes you to the most important attractions in one day, or take Blue Lagoon tour for swimming and snorkeling experience.”
  • Рекомендует 1 местный житель
Историческое место
“The main hall is free of charge, but the ticket for visiting the rest of the substructions of Diocletian's palace is 45 HRK”
  • Рекомендует 31 местный житель
Памятник / достопримечательность
“Porta septemtrionalis is their Roman name. Emperor Diocletian walked through them as he entered the Palace on the 1st of June 305. They were built in the shape of a rectangle, with double doors, as part of the defensive military tactics (propugnaculum). The facade was decorated with niches containing figure sculptures of the four tetrarchs (Diocletian, Maximian, Galerius and Constantius Chlorus). These doors, starting from Peristyle, and then through Cardo street, led directly towards Salona as the capital city of the Roman Province Dalmatia, and could only be used by the emperor and the members of his family. Today they are, together with the nearby monument to the Bishop Gregius of Nin (Grgur Ninski), the work of a great Croatian sculptor Ivan Meštrović, one of the favourite Split tourist spots. Under the influence of Venice, in the 16th century, the gates changed their name to Porta Aurea or Golden Gates, and this name stayed with them to this day. Free admission. The Church of Saint Martin was built during the 5th/6th century in the guard passage above the Golden Gate. You can notice 3 small windows of the church with stone rails turned to the defensive yard. The Dominic Convent here is the 14th century. Free admission. ”
  • Рекомендуют 6 местных жителей
Историческое место
“Unique and amazing place going back to third century with St. Domnius Church, sphinx brought from Egypt by Diocletian and entrance into the Emperor's private chambers. So much history and so busy. ”
  • Рекомендуют 5 местных жителей
Торговый центр
“Peristil, as the central square of the Palace, intended for the Emperor Diocletian celebrated as the living son of Jupiter, finds its place among many temples. The Emperor would appear under the architrave of the central part of Protyron, and his subjects would approach him, kneeling down, kissing the hem of his scarlet cloak, or they would fall in front of him, their entire body to the ground. The red colour of the granite columns emphasises the ceremonial function. Namely, ever since the Emperor Diocletian the colour purple became the imperial colour. With the construction of a new city square with the town hall (Pjaca) in the 13th/14th century, Peristyle became a religious centre. Today it borders from the West with Palaces of Split noble families Grisogono, Cipci and Skočibušić, as they lean on its authentic columns and arches. With their Renaissance and Gothic architecture they themselves became monuments. Owing to its unique beauty and unusual acoustics, Peristil became the ideal theatre scenery, perfect for opera classics and works of ancient literature, but also the stage where abundant urban life continues. Having your coffee on the steps circling Peristyle is a unique experience, one of the closest touches of a modern man with the ancient heritage, not only Roman, but also Egyptian, as the Peristyle is closely watched over by a 3500 old and perfectly preserved sphinx, the witness of Split's history in making. This is why John Paul the II in amazement said " Dear God, how many feet have stepped through here", and this is why citizens of Split think of Peristyle as the centre of Split and the entire world. At the south side of Peristil (entrance to Vestibul) you can see Prothyron. Prothyron is the grand arched entry to the Emperors living quarters with ceremonial loggia under the central arsh where Diocletian was viewed and worshiped as a cult deity. ”
  • Рекомендуют 12 местных жителей
Торговый центр
  • Рекомендует 1 местный житель
Tourist Information Center
“Great offer of daily excursions (Krka, Plitvice, Blue Cave, etc), adventure activities (diving, kayaking, rafting), sightseeing tours (city, GoT), transfers. Check out www.splitlicious.com ”
  • Рекомендует 1 местный житель
Историческое место
“Diocletian's Palace is an ancient palace built for the Roman Emperor Diocletian at the turn of the fourth century AD, that today forms about half the old town of Split, Croatia.”
  • Рекомендуют 3 местных жителя
Историческое место
“The Diocletian Aqueduct is an ancient Roman aqueduct constructed to bring water to the Diocletian Palace, so it was constructed at the same time as the Palace (in 305 AD). The part above the ground with beautiful arches can be seen near Solin on the left side when you are entering the city of Split. It is 9 km long and is one of the first aqueducts built in Croatia. It took water from the river Jadro near Solin, which is where the water in Split comes from to this day. It was devastated in the 6th century by the Goths and renovated 13 centuries later, in 1880. A part of the aqueduct can be seen in Atrium hotel and it is possible to enter into the canal of the aqueduct.”
  • Рекомендуют 2 местных жителя
Историческое место
“Admire the important Roman past of the region, still alive today in the city of Split”
  • Рекомендует 1 местный житель
Историческое место
Историческое место
“Dioklecijanova palača je nešto što ne smijete propustiti. Šetnjom 5 minuta od apartmana uronite u 1700 godina staru središte Splita”
  • Рекомендует 1 местный житель
Историческое место